News › Archives

IASE webinars

The International Association for Statistical Education (IASE https://iase-web.org/) presents our December webinar, and we welcome you all to join us. We welcome IASE and non-IASE members to the session and especially invite high school statistics teachers and other statistics education networks in your country.

Details about the webinar are below and on our webinar page https://iase-web.org/Webinars.php.

Statistical and Data Literacy in Policy-Making

7 December 2022; 09:00 UTC (see below for localized date/time)

Webinar duration: 90 minutes

Presenters (full bios on the website)

  • Reija Helenius, Group Leader, Director | Statistics Finland & International Statistical Literacy Project
  • Steve MacFeely, Head Statistician | WHO & ISLP
  • Walter Radermacher, Professor | Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich & Chair of the ISI Advisory Board on Ethics & President | FENStatS: “Statistical Awareness Promoting a Data Culture”
  • Giulio Sabbati, Head of Statistical and Data Visualisation Support Office | European Parliamentary Research Service: “Statistical and Data Literacy: A Practitioner’s View on Policy-making: How to provide independent, objective and authoritative data and information for policy-making”
  • Milo Schield, Statistical Literacy Consultant | University of New Mexico: “Statistical Literacy: Seven Simple Questions for Policymakers”
  • Katharina Schüller, CEO & founder | StatUp & Board member | German Statistical Society: “Data and AI Literacy for Everyone”
  • Gaby Umbach, Part-time Professor, Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies | European University Institute: “Statistical and data literacy in policy-making”

Register here https://forms.gle/oHtCH1JXakHPBP8UA

The webinar is organized by the International Statistical Literacy Project (ISLP), a project that aims to advance statistical literacy worldwide. The webinar is based on the SJIAOS special stream on Statistical and Data Literacy in Policy-Making (Vol 38, No. 2, 2022). As the publication did, the webinar offers conceptual reflections on statistical and data literacy in policy-making. In their presentations, the contributing authors reflect on the relevance of the use of statistics and data in politics and highlight the impact of both on policy-making. They underline the need for statistical and data literacy in policy-making and identify key elements of it. They also elaborate on how statistical and data literacy in policy-making is specific. The individual contributions to the SJIAOS special stream originate from the ISI World Statistics Congress 2021 Invited Paper Session on ‘Statistical and Data Literacy in Policy-Making’.

 

Starting at:

 

7 Dec, 12:00 am Anchorage
7 Dec, 1:00 am Los Angeles
7 Dec, 2:00 am Denver
7 Dec, 3:00 am Chicago
7 Dec, 4:00 am New York
7 Dec, 4:00 am Bogota
7 Dec, 5:00 am Halifax, Manaus
7 Dec, 6:00 am Buenos Aires, Rio de Janeiro
7 Dec, 9:00 am London, Lisbon
7 Dec, 10:00 am Paris, Rome, Lagos
7 Dec, 11:00 am Tallinn, Jerusalem, Ukraine, Harare
 

7 Dec, 12:00 pm Istanbul
7 Dec, 12:00 pm Moscow, Nairobi, Riyadh
7 Dec, 12:30 pm Tehran
7 Dec, 1:30 pm Kabul
7 Dec, 3:00 pm Dhaka
7 Dec, 5:00 pm Perth, Beijing
7 Dec, 7:00 pm Brisbane
7 Dec, 7:30 pm Adelaide
7 Dec, 8:00 pm Sydney
7 Dec, 10:00 pm Auckland

Register here https://forms.gle/oHtCH1JXakHPBP8UA

Ngā mihi nui

Pip😊

 

Dr Pip Arnold | Director

Karekare Education

E: pip@karekareeducation.co.nz

M: +64 27 626 8286

https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/26939169.2021.1877582

 

Read: Using Photographs as Data Sources to Tell Stories

https://hdsr.mitpress.mit.edu/pub/0cxrb76t/release/3

 

Read: Bringing Complex Data into the Classroom

https://hdsr.mitpress.mit.edu/pub/mix9b32x/release/1

 

International Association for Statistics Education

Executive member

Join IASE @ https://iase-web.org/Membership.php

See our webinars https://iase-web.org/Webinars.php

 

Maths Week 2022 will be held between Monday 8 August and Friday 12 August.

This year is the 25th anniversary of Maths Week – it started in 1998. To mark the occasion, we are having a “Design a Maths Week Logo” competition for all students in
Years 1 – 11. Entries will be made on the Maths Week website during Maths Week. There will be four year-level prizes. Supplementary prizes may also be awarded.

Maths Week provides resources for teachers and students to support the mathematics and statistics curriculum. Last year, 278 000 students and 6901 teachers throughout New Zealand registered for Maths Week. Maths Week material is available free, online, to teachers, students, and the public.

Teachers who register for Maths Week also have access to answers to questions and other notes. They will have access to this material from Monday 25 July.

The aims of Maths Week are:

  • to encourage student’s interest in mathematics and statistics
  • to give teachers resources that they can use in the classroom, particularly material that requires some research and which may not be readily available to them, or that can be used electronically in class
  • to show the pleasure that mathematics can provide and some of the everyday places where it can be used
  • to give teachers material that can provide an extension.

Maths Week resources are written in five levels for all students from Year 1 through to Year 11.

Learn more: https://www.mathsweek.co.nz

Stats PD in your PJs

It’s not too late to register for this weekend’s AMAonline event. It’s free and you can watch it with friends!

The keynote speaker is Tim Erickson (10 am session), one of America’s top data science educators.

The title of Tim’s talk is Connecting functions and geometry through data and modeling. What a great title – talk about connections!

Check out the lineup of other great presenters and register here.

Grab a coffee and see you there!

World Wildlife Day was started by the United Nations to celebrate and raise awareness of the world’s wild animals and plants.

The theme for 2022 is ‘Recovering key species for ecosystem restoration’ and it will look at the need to reverse the fate of most critically endangered species and to support the restoration of their habitats and ecosystems.

The Albatross tracker is a resource for both primary and secondary students, looking at where our native Antipodean wandering albatross and Northern Royal albatross travel and live in Aotearoa New Zealand.

The app is Perfect for  I notice…. I wonder…..

Follow a single bird, or compare the behaviour of different birds or species.

Here are some of the variables you can explore:

  • Name: Darvic number/Band number/ Band combination to identify the bird
  • Argos ID: Satellite tracker ID
  • Colony: Breeding colony of the tagged bird
  • Season: Year the bird was tracked
  • Metadata: In the format Species_ breeding status_ sex_ Bird ID (eg: ANT_B_F_W12D is a breeding female Antipodean albatross with the Darvic band W12D)
  • Distance Flown: Estimated distance flown since tagging

Happy albatross tracking! Let us know how you used this data in your classroom. We love to hear your data exploration stories, and what students discovered in the data.

Breaking News

The #DataViz Headline Challenge Starts Friday!

Showcase your statistical literacy and journalism skills by submitting your clear and compelling headlines for New York Times graphs in March’s four weekly challenges. The 2022 spring contest will run from March 4 – 30.

Finalists will be published on the This is Statistics website each week in partnership with the New York Times Learning Network, and top winners will get prizes.

Head over to the #DataViz Headlines Challenge webpage to learn more!

 

Amplifying Statistics and Data Science in Classrooms

For those wanting to learn more about statistics and data science, Hollylynne Lee’s Amplifying Statistics and Data Science in Classrooms is a new set of free modules created in The PLACE that help educators:

  • Develop strategies for using an investigation cycle to teach statistics and data science
  • Ignite students’ interest in real-world data investigations with technology
  • Emphasize inferential reasoning by posing different types of investigative questions

Tui

This citizen science project aims to collect data about which birds and how many are in your backyard. This is done once a year during a particular window of time, usually for one week starting at the end of June, and the results contribute to New Zealand’s knowledge and monitoring of garden bird species and the health of the environment we live in.

Get involved! Visit The Science Learning Hub with ready-made resources.

Maths Week 2021 is coming!

Maths Week runs from 9 — 13 August 2021

Activities include:

  • Survivor Series/Kia Mōrehurehu.
  • Maths Millionaire/Kaipāngarau Whai Rawa.
  • The Maths Chaser/Whai Pāngarau.
  • Daily Dollar/Ko te Tāra o te Rā.
  • Money Wise/Pūtea Mōhio.
  • Super Challenge/Kua takoto te Manuka.
  • The Basket of Mathematics/Te kete o te Pāngara.
  • Interactive games.

For more, see: www.mathsweek.co.nz

Need help exploring data using technology in your teaching and learning?

Catch up on the latest professional development for Data Science. These webinars are a great starting point to help structure and support STEM opportunities for your colleagues and students.

Data Science Education Meetups

Recommend starting with: What Kinds of Questions Do Students Generate as They View Data Visualizations?

“Thinking about questions makes me think of more questions.”